Join the launch of Third Act Texas to find out what we’re all about!

About this event

Texas produces more energy than any other state, but our state is almost entirely controlled by fossil fuel billionaires. We’re part of the movement to increase the use of renewable energy, move away from fossil fuels, and safeguard our democracy. If what we say resonates with you, join up to contribute in the way that suits you best.

Bill McKibben

Bill is founder of Third Act, which organizes people over the age of 60 to work on climate and racial justice. He founded the first global grassroots climate campaign,, and serves as the Schumann Distinguished Professor in Residence at Middlebury College in Vermont. In 2014, he was awarded the Right Livelihood Prize, sometimes called the ‘alternative Nobel,’ in the Swedish Parliament. He’s also won the Gandhi Peace Award, and honorary degrees from 19 colleges and universities.

Katharine Hayhoe

Katharine Hayhoe is an atmospheric scientist whose research focuses on understanding what climate change means for people and the places where we live. She is the Chief Scientist for The Nature Conservancy and a Horn Distinguished Professor and Endowed Professor of Public Policy and Public Law in the Dept. of Political Science at Texas Tech University. Her book, “Saving Us: A Climate Scientist’s Case for Hope and Healing in a Divided World,” was released in Sept 2021 and she also hosts the PBS digital series Global Weirding, currently in its fifth season. Katharine has been named one of TIME’s 100 Most Influential People, the United Nations Champion of the Environment, and the World Evangelical Alliance’s Climate Ambassador. ​

John Beard

John Beard, executive director, Port Arthur Community Action Network ( “PA-CAN”) serving the Port Arthur/Southeast Texas area, focusing on environmental issues and community development. He has over thirty two years of public service as an elected official; nine as city councilman and  mayor pro-tem, with current and previous service  on numerous boards and commissions with the City of Port Arthur.

James Talarico

Representative James Talarico, Texas House District 52, named by Texas Monthly as a 10 Best Legislators on Saving Democracy. Representative James Talarico is a former public school teacher first elected to serve in the Texas House of Representatives in 2018. He currently sits on the Public Education Committee, the Juvenile Justice and Family Issues Committee, and the Calendars Committee.

Daniel Cohen

Daniel Cohen is President, Indivisible Houston. Daniel is a professional communicator with a deep love for advocacy. A lifelong Houstonian, Daniel grew up in a civically engaged family and has always taken part in his community. Today, he is dedicated to organizing to challenge institutions of power to make the world a better place. A career communicator, business owner, and Democratic Party precinct chair, Daniel believes in The People and the power of uncomfortable truths.